Top
Follow

Edit Mode (Non-Franklin Instances)

In this article:

  1. Edit Mode Overview
  2. Editing a Learning Object
  3. Adding a New Learning Object
  4. Class Communication Objects
  5. Exporting Your Course as a Template

Edit Mode Overview

Certain non-Franklin instances of BlueQuill have a feature enabled that allows the Instructor to edit their course's content, even while the course is live and running. This means Instructors can edit existing Learning Objects and add new ones containing customized content. Instructors can also transfer these new changes to Design Mode as a new template to build off of for future sections of the course. This Design Mode is what Course Designers use to create, edit, and publish courses.

IMPORTANT: Editing course objects while a course is running may or may not erase Student data. BlueQuill will generally warn you if a change will affect things like previous scores, but it is still advised that you understand how editing a course may affect course data.

Editing a Learning Object

When an Instructor is given a course to work with, the Instructor can edit any Learning Object's content or settings as needed.

To edit an existing Learning Object as an Instructor:

  1. Navigate to the homepage of the course that you wish to edit.
  2. From this page, click the "Edit" button in the top right corner of the page:
    Edit_1.png
  3. This will open the Edit Mode menu and allow you to start editing Learning Objects. Click on any Learning Object to open it up in Editing Mode.
  4. When you open a Learning Object in Editing Mode, you will see a page similar to the one below. We have marked some important sections to learn about:
    Edit_2.png
    1. This section is where you can change the icon, title, tags, time estimation, and hiding options for the object. See Configuring Learning Objects: The Basics for more information.
    2. This section is where you can allow things like: start/due dates, points, discussion forums, file submissions, Meet sessions, assessments, and Turnitin integration. See Configuring Learning Objects: Tools for more information.
    3. This section allows you to specify which user the content is directed towards. Note that viewing permissions vary per role. See Configuring Learning Objects: Adding Content for more information.
    4. This section is where you must hit "Publish to Students" to make changes visible and you may also change the theme of the object, if you wish.
  5. After you have edited your object and made all of the necessary changes, click "Publish to Students" to make the changes visible to Students. You should see a quick notification at the bottom of your screen like this:
    edit_3.png

Adding a New Learning Object

In addition to editing existing Learning Objects, Instructors can add new ones as well (this does not include Class Communications, see the next section for that information). This can be useful if the Instructor thinks the course could use an object explaining more on how to find e-textbooks, how to use BlueQuill, additional resources, and so on.

To add a new Learning Object:

  1. Navigate to the homepage of the course that you wish to edit.
  2. From this page, click the "Edit" button in the top right corner of the page:Edit_1.png
  3. This will open up Editing Mode where you can now edit and add new Learning Objects. On the right hand side of your screen, you will see a drop-down menu that says "Create" and two objects labeled "New Container/New Learning Object". This is the Learning Object creation menu:
    Edit_4.png
  4. From this menu, you can drag a New Container or a New Learning Object over to your course. A Container is what groups all of the Learning Objects together, such as the gray container above titled "Syllabus". The title of the Container can be changed by clicking on the current title and Containers can be placed inside of other Containers as well.

    - Adding a new Container:

    Edit_5.png

    - Adding a new Learning Object:
    Edit_6.png
  5. After adding a new Container and/or Object, your changes will automatically save (but they are still not visible to Students or in Design Mode). Click on your new Learning Object to edit its content (see instructions in the section above).
  6. After you are done editing your object, always make sure to click "Publish to Students" to make your changes visible to the class. We will go over sharing your course as a template in the last section of this article.

Class Communication Objects

An important concept to note is that Class Communication objects do NOT get exported back to Design Mode, only regular Learning Objects will export. To learn more about using Class Communication objects, see our article Adding Class Communication Objects.

Exporting Your Course as a Template

Once you have finished setting up your course, you may want to save your changes to use as a template for future sections to use. Instructors can export their course as a new format to the Design Mode, where a Course Designer can use the template for future sections of the course.

To save your course as a template:

  1. Navigate to the homepage of the course that you wish to export.
  2. Click on the "Edit" button in the top right hand side of the screen to open the Edit menu. 
  3. From this menu, click on "Export As Template" to export your changes to the Course Designer.
  4. At the bottom of the page, a notification will pop up asking you to confirm that you want to export. Click "Yes" to finalize the exporting process.
    edit_7.png

The course will now be available in Design Mode as a new format for the course.

NOTE: This process will create a duplicate format of the course in Design Mode. The Course Designer may need to delete the duplicate format to ensure that the appropriate format is published and deployed the next time a section runs.

 

Was this article helpful?
0 out of 0 found this helpful

Comments