This article covers:
- Overview of Groups
- Creating and Modifying Groups
- Assigning Groups to Objects
- Discuss Tool and Groups
Overview of Groups
Groups are a great way for instructors to promote group work in an online environment. With the Groups tool, students can be assigned to a group that is also assigned to certain assignments. You may also use this tool to allow students to have private discussions inside of the Discuss tool.
Creating and Modifying Groups
1. To create or modify existing Groups, navigate to your course and then the "Groups" menu at the top of your screen.
- NOTE: This option will only appear for sections that have students enrolled.
2. From this tab, you can find your students listed off to the far right and your Group tiles in the middle of the screen. Drag a student to a Group tile to add them to a new Group.
- NOTE: You can add students to multiple Groups as well as remove students from Groups by dragging their profile picture out of the Group tile.
3. Now that you have a student(s) in a Group, you can rename the Group by clicking on the title, typing the Group name, and clicking off of the Group tile. You can now also tell that a student is assigned to a group if they have a blue check mark next to their picture.
4. Click on the "View Details" button to find information on your Group, such as student names and assignments assigned to the Group.
- NOTE: The students will be able to view all the groups that the instructor has created, but they won’t be able to make any modifications to them.
Assigning Groups to Objects
Assigning Groups to certain objects is a great way to let students split up work and promote Groups to discuss different topics.
1. To start, in the Groups menu, click the switch below to switch from Groups to Objects mode.
2. This will cause the screen to change and display all of your course objects. To assign a Group to a certain object, drag the Group tile from the far right to the object you want them assigned to.
- NOTE: Once a Group has been successfully assigned to an Object, the Object will display that Group's name above the Object like below:
3. You can also assign multiple Groups to an object at once by clicking the white circle on a Group tile to select it (a blue check mark will appear) and then you can drag the Groups to any Object. Alternatively, you may click the gray circle above the list of Groups to Select/Deselect All Groups.
TIP: To easily see which Objects a Group has been assigned to, you can hover over a Group to see their assigned Objects highlighted.
Discuss Tool and Groups
Groups are a great way to allow students to have discussions in private over a topic that other Groups are discussing as well. You can set a Discussion Object to be private or public so that Groups will only see posts from their own Group members.
1. After assigning a Group to a discussion post, navigate to the Discussion Object. From here, you can change the discussion to be private or public by clicking on the menu icon next to "Discuss":
- Switching the option to ON will make the posts private, meaning Groups will only see posts made by their other Group members.
- Switching the option to OFF will make the posts public, meaning any Group(s) assigned to the Discussion Object will be able to see all posts.
- NOTE: This option is only visible to Instructors and Admins.
- If a student is not a member of any group that is assigned to an Object, then the Object disappears from the student’s course home page and they will NOT be able to access it.
- If a student is removed from a group, moved to a different group, or if a group is removed from the discussion object, any discussion data made prior to the change will be kept in the original object.